Barber’s Defensive Driving / Driver Improvement Program (GA DDS Certified and Approved)

Lon Horwedel | Ann Arbor.com

Barber's Georgia DDS Certified and Approved #707

Defensive Driving Course and Driver Improvement Program

You may attend our 1-day classes on Zoom or In-Person

You can only attend our 2-night class on Zoom

The Georgia Department of Driver Services ( GA DDS) regulates the Georgia DDS Certified Driver Improvement Program also known as the Georgia DDS Certified Defensive Driving Program.

This is a 6-hour Defensive Driving course designed to teach drivers about safe driving attitudes and behaviors.  You may attend Barber's GA DDS Certified and Approved Defensive Driving courses on Zoom or In-Person at our Columbus, GA location. 

Sign up at least 20 minutes before the class starts.  Limited seats are available so we suggest you sign up a day or 2 in advance.

Zoom certificates issued are the same as In-Person certificates issued.

Zoom students will be emailed their certificates at completion.


Georgia DDS Certified Defensive Driving Schedule

Offered every week

1-Day Defensive Driving Class (ZOOM or IN-PERSON)

Wednesday 10am-5pm (Break 1-2)

Thursday 10am-5pm  (Break 1-2)

Saturday 10:30am-5:30pm (Break 1:30-2:30)

 

2-Night Defensive Driving Class (ZOOM ONLY)

Monday and Tuesday Night 5:30pm-8:30pm

(or)

Wednesday and Thursday Night 5:30pm-8:30pm

 

You will select your class dates, pay and register 

below the reasons you may be attending Defensive Driving.


The Georgia DDS Certified Defensive Driving/ 

Georgia DDS Certified Driver Improvement

courses may be taken:

 

if Court Ordered by a Judge or needed for your Lawyer      $95.00 

Choose Court/Probation Requirement at Registration

 

for pending Traffic Tickets and Court Dates      $95.00 

(check with the clerk of court to see if the judge will accept)

Choose Court/Probation Requirement at Registration

 

for Point Count Reduction on a Georgia License      $95.00 

(removes up to 7 points off your GA MVR once every 5 years)

This is not for court, this is for the Georgia DDS

Choose Point Count Reduction at Registration

 

for Georgia Driver’s License Reinstatement      $95.00

(non alcohol or drug related suspensions)

Choose Georgia License Reinstatement at Registration

 

for Point Count Accumulation      $95.00 

15 points in 2 years, suspends your Georgia license over 21

4 points in 1 traffic stop, suspends your Georgia license under 21

4 points in 1 year, suspends your Georgia license under 18

Choose Georgia License Reinstatement at Registration

 

a Hit and Run, Leaving The Scene or No Insurance      $95.00

Choose Georgia License Reinstatement at Registration

 

an Insurance Discount and Personal Education      $95.00

Choose Insurance Discount at Registration

 

Attending In-Person:

Sign Up in advance or just walk-in 15 minutes before any class starts.

Attending On Zoom:

Sign Up at least 20 mins. in advance so we can email you the Zoom link for your class.

These are 6-hour classroom only sessions. 

No driving is involved.

If you miss your class, you can attend any future program. No Problem!

Georgia's Point System Explanation, Laws and Point Count Chart

FAQ Defensive Driving
How often may I take a Driver Improvement course for points reduction? In accordance with O.C.G.A §40-5-86, licensed Georgia residents may request that DDS reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia Driver’s license. Up to 7 points may be reduced once every 5 years. I was 5 minutes late arriving for class and the instructor would not allow me to attend the class. Can they do that? Yes. All schools have strict attendance policies, which are outlined in the paperwork. You sign paperwork when you contract with a school to attend one of its courses. You will be expected to arrive on time and to complete each session. Students that arrive late to any session can expect to be denied entry into class and may be required to start the course over again, at full cost. In addition, students that are absent or leave early from any session may be required to start the course over again, at full cost. It is recommended that you consider the course schedule carefully and take into account any potential scheduling conflicts you may have before signing a contract to attend I took a Driver Improvement course for license reinstatement.  Can I use the same Certificate of Completion for points reduction? When you submit the Certificate of Completion to a DDS Customer Service Center, you must inform them at that time that you wish to use it for both license reinstatement and points reduction. What is the cost of a Driver Improvement Course? For license reinstatement, points reduction, or court purposes, clinics must charge $95. For Driver Improvement classes taken for any other reason, clinics may charge a fee up to $95. Other reasons include insurance premium reduction and educational purposes.

 

Points and Points Reduction

Point System

Points are added to your license upon conviction of certain violations.  The Georgia Point System ranges from 2 to 6 points.

How many points will suspend your license?

  • A driver with 15 points in a 24 month period will have their license suspended. Licensed Georgia residents may request that the Georgia Department of Driver Services reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia driver's license.

Points Reduction

  • How do I reduce points on my Georgia driver's license?

    • Up to 7 points can be reduced once every 5 years.¬† In accordance with rule O.C.G.A ¬ß40-5-86.
    • To qualify for a Points Reduction, you must successfully complete a certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course.¬† Once you complete the Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course:
      • Bring the original certificate of completion to a DDS Customer Service Center
      • or you can request a Points reduction by Mail.¬† Mail the original certificate of completion to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, P. O. Box 80447, Conyers, Georgia 30013.
    • For a list of certified defensive driving schools visit¬†Certified Driver Improvement Schools

When are points not added?

  • You will not receive points for the following:
    • Speeding convictions less than 15 miles-per-hour over the posted speed limit
    • Convictions of driving "Too Fast for Conditions"
    • If you are a Non-Georgia Resident

Is your license suspended?

  • Create an¬†Online Services¬†account or download the¬†DDS 2 GO Mobile App¬†to check your license status, to check the number of points on your license, or to reinstate.

Georgia Department of Driver Services Approved Defensive Driving / Driver Improvement Program. (GA DDS #707)

6 Comments

  1. My daughter went to the Cedartown office this morning and did her learners and the guy that helped her his name was Scott he was amazing he was the best human being I have ever met in my life he was very nice and very very helpful and we want to thank him from the bottom of our hearts and keep up the good work

  2. My daughter went and took her Learners today in the Cedartown office and a guy named Scott had helped her he was the most generous and nicest person I have ever met and I just want to say thank you from the bottom of our hearts keep up the good work

  3. Mrs. Sandi is great. I love her energy. I actually learned a lot doing this class. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *